Notification for members and friends

We will not have a meeting on our Second Thursday of the month due to the Portland Regional Gem and Mineral Show at the Clackamas Fairgrounds in Canby Oregon. 

Many of us will be down there helping out. If you have not yet volunteered I strongly encourage membership to put in at least 2 hours while your down there and you will be able to get free entry for all three days and visit with old and new friends! Please put in some time on set up Wednesday or take down on Sunday, We still need help kids corner, silent auction and ticketing.


Welcome new officers

Elections were held at our last meeting of November and our new officers for 2018 are:

President Richelle Borlaug

Vice President Casey Truman

Treasurer Linda Harvey

Secretary Matthew Porter

Board Director Rose Jackson

Board Director Bill Harvey

Board Director Cindy Yablok

Other changes of note:

Newsletter Editor  Linda Harvey


Clubs 60th annual show scheduled for March 9-11, 2018.

Tualatin Valley Gem Club will be putting on it’s 60th annual rock and mineral show on March 9, 10, and 11th at the Oregon Army National Guard Armory 2950 Taylor Way, Forest Grove, Oregon 97116

Please copy, forward and share this and help us spread the word. Looking forward to seeing you all at the show.



Awards Banquet 2018

The club held it’s annual Awards Banquet and Inauguration Ceremony December 10th. A good time was had by all and the food was outstanding.

People lineing up for food
This years banquet was a pot-luck and the food was delicious.
Cliff in Santa Hat Carves the roast
Cliff Vanderzanden carved the roast at the banquet.

Everyone I spoke to raved about it’s flavor and how tender it was. You could cut it with a plastic fork!

We also had a raffle with some absolutely fabulous items. This year there were 34 items, so many attendees went home with a prize.

In addition to swearing in the officers for 2018, Awards for this past year were handed out.

Winners :

Member of the Year: Casey Truman

Presidents Award: Tom Wilson

Long and Outstanding Service Award: Don and Linda Shattauer

Congratulations to you all and thank you for all you do for us.

Rose gets award
Awarded 2016 Member of the Year
Presidents Award goes to Vivian Howard
Mitch Metcalf presents Presidents Award to Vivian Howard
Carl Weaver gets award
The 2016 Long and Outstanding Service Award was presented to Carl Weaver

And finally, we want to congratulate Russel and Dorothy Snook, who celebrated their 50th Wedding Anniversary with us that night.

50th Anniversary
Celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary.

Welcome new officers

Elections were held at our last meeting of November and our new officers for 2017 are:

President     Rose Jackson

Vice President   Carl Weaver

Treasurer    Richelle Borlaug

Secretary    Matthew Porter

Board Director  Cliff Vanderzanden

Board Director  Taylor Hunt

Board Director  Mitch Metcalf

Other changes of note:

Newsletter Editor   Pam Hunt

Show Chairman   Casey Truman

The official ceremony will be at our Holiday Dinner on December 10th at the Senior Center. If you haven’t done so, please RSVP to Mitch if you will be attending.